A Garment of Peace…

Pope Francis has invited the world to pray and fast for peace today.

I am a terrible food faster, but there are many other ways one can fast.

The act of fasting–letting go, setting aside, doing without–has the power to help one see what fills the self, what takes one’s energy, what fills our day.

I know what I will do. Quite honestly, I feel uncomfortable publicly announcing my fast plan.

However, I encourage all of you to find something to let go of for a day as a means to draw into a mindful reflection on living peacefully.

I offer this brief thought from Henry Nouwen:

“In a world so torn apart by rivalry, anger, and hatred, we have the privileged vocation to be living signs of a love that can bridge all divisions and heal all wounds.” ~Henri J.M. Nouwen

Don your particular garment of peace and live as a sign of God’s love and peace.

Today.

100_5347

2 thoughts on “A Garment of Peace…

Leave a Reply

