Peacock symbolism…

A while back, I started to dig for information on the symbolism of peacocks.  The hackneyed traits have always been pride and vanity.  I didn’t doubt that, but needed to see if there was more to this archetypal bird–why did it speak to my spirit?  Perhaps I am just vain and too proud for my own good!  But the colors, the design of the feathers drew me deeper.  Why does this creature of God  tug at my heart?

So I dug…and I found some interesting tidbits  that I will share here and there in this rambling blog on faith and fashion.

Today, from the blog of Gregory Wilbur, I share this insight:

“The peacock is a symbol of immortality because the ancients believed that the peacock had flesh that did not decay after death. As such, early Christian paintings and mosaics use peacock imagery, and peacock feathers can be used during the Easter season as church decorations. This symbol of immortality is also directly linked to Christ.

The peacock naturally replaces his feathers annually; as such, the peacock is also a symbol of renewal.”

http://themeaningofsymbols.blogspot.com/2009/03/peacock-symbolism.html

Finally– an idea that I could sit with and more importantly, grow with.

Pride is transformed to glory and beauty.  Redemption, new life, hope and a bursting forth of joy–all that in a little peacock feather!

My garment of peace is making more sense to me every day…

Basilique-Notre-Dame-de-la-Garde

 

http://www.notredamedelagarde.com/Les-mosaiques.html

2 thoughts on “Peacock symbolism…

  1. Reminds me of how Flannery O’Conner used the peacock as a symbol of resurrection at the end of her tragically-moving story “The Displaced Person”. That was the first of her stories that I read way back in college and I was hooked!

    Thanks for the post! Really enjoyed your thoughts, including the beautiful mosaic (?) of the peacock accompanying your article!

Leave a Reply

