new hair, new body, just me….

Ten months of intentional physical change gives me cause to pause for some self-reflection.

On December 28, 2012, I joined weight Watchers and began an 8 month journey of conscious and aware eating.  The end result was a 34 pound loss.

Last week Friday, I screwed up my courage to restyle and recolor my hair.

I looked in the mirror at this drastically altered physique and smiled.

“I know who you are!  You are the body I used to inhabit; the face–other than droopier jowls–the one I greeted every morning so many years ago.”

“Ah…(that woman replied)…you may think I am the same, but I have grown so much wiser, sassier, smarter, bolder.”

“You’re right! (I smiled back).  You are a person come full spiral.  Girl, you’ve finally bloomed…”

There is no going home you know.  And that is perfectly fine. And good. And right.

I am not so naive as to believe that the change stops here.

There are many more journeys ahead.

But just this moment, to be in a place of soul, mind, and body connect is rare, beautiful, joyous.

I feel empowered.

I feel emboldened.

I feel real.

I feel like me.

 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

