Random Advent thoughts

It’s that most wonderful time of the year…Advent! A time to prepare, to wait in joy and hope, to go a little crazy with excitement for Christmas, but to do so slowly….

At my home, it is snowing today.  The snow is gentle, soft, cold. It sends me into hot cocoa mode. It calls me to slow down, to wonder, to ruminate on the closing of the year.

The readings of today’s Liturgy were of dreams and hopes for peace; the call of the Baptist to prepare, to be aware…am I? are you?

I spent yesterday on the Magnificent Mile.  The temperatures were icy, but the hustling crowds, the music, lights, trees were all festive, joyous. The day was delightful, but I can’t dismiss the faces of the homeless people huddled in doorways someplace between Saks and Nieman Marcus…

Prepare the way of the Lord.  He comes and is among us now, in the faces of the rich and poor alike. We are inter-related and we cannot walk away from each other. As I touched the silk and cashmere garments in these fine establishments, I wondered who was making them and how much they were paid. My fashionista self reveled in the textile and aesthetic beauty; my justice heart mourned for those left out in the cold. 

God made us all, rich and poor; broken and whole; needy and satisfied; creative and hungry.

The snow continues to fall and blanket us in peace.

Perhaps my questions are all I have and all I can do on this day.

Perhaps it is enough.

Image

 

3 thoughts on “Random Advent thoughts

  1. Yes indeed! It was enough for that moment when your presence graced the magnificent mile, now enlarged through the sharing of your thoughts and feelings. Your fashionista self and justice heart just go to show that an eye for beauty and compassion for the poor are reflections of aspects God within the very being of your unique and holy self. Our God is mystery and comes bearing gifts for the world through each of us, God’s unique creations. Very touching reflection. Thank you O fashionable compassionate one! Keep highlighting beauty and evoking compassion for others through your gifts!

Leave a Reply

