The Gift of Cashmere

Really?

Yes, really–I am writing about cashmere today. Cashmere sweaters, to be exact.

In my neck of the woods, this is a really cold  winter.  In fact, it is colder here today than it is in Nome Alaska.

Baby, that is some chill factor!

Hot soup, hot cocoa, hot anything has been on the menu for the past month.  Non-stop.

I am not unhappy with the polar weather.

No.

I believe that it is needed to keep our environment in some type of balance–I’m especially hopeful that these  icy temps and blustery snowfalls will keep our resident chipmunks at bay. [READ: no garden foraging this summer…]

But I digress.

Cashmere–I love the sound of this fiber! The touch–superbly soft, comforting, luxurious…

Cashmere is also expensive. So I do my best to seek out sales on classic wardrobe staples–specifically, turtleneck sweaters.

This year, I came upon 3 lovely candidates–one taupe, one garnet and one black.

As per the freezing temperatures, I have been living in these sweaters.   Each time I don one, I feel wrapped in the generosity of the fabric;

the ability to purchase them

and the sense to take advantage of the sale.

[I will confess that I did wonder if I went a bit overboard with three…but I wonder no more]

My heart and spirit are grateful to the God who blesses me with warmth

and to the same God who calls me to remember, pray for, share with and advocate for those who are cold.

Stay warm, wherever you may be….

photo

Leave a Reply

