a (hopefully) generous March…

My calendar indicates that today is March 1. The weather sings a different song. I wanted to take a picture of our front yard, but I already have this photo–I snapped it in December, January and February. And that is how it is. So I move on…Lent begins this coming week. Lent–Spring–beckons me to clean:

  • closets
  • pantries
  • drawers
  • studios
  • the computer
  • my heart

I began this year with the word, “Generous”  as a source of inspiration for every aspect of my life–daily choices, care of family and loved ones, friends, ministry, home, possessions; listening; time; spirit; creative ventures. January brought me the gift of a generous spirit. February arrived with the need for self generosity–cure the cold, bundle up and hunker down.  This self time created space to ponder the “what’s next” question that drives both my Type A need to plan and the call to let go.  It is the letting go that I surmised needs to happen first. And so I stand here in March. Following the great example of Susan Vogt, I will strive to give something away every day of Lent. I will also practice the fast from attaining “stuff”–not easy for a fashionista and a peacock but a worthy goal indeed. Creative dressing,inspired meal planning and good old fashioned Spring housecleaning–room by room–will be featured this month. The psalmist cries out, “A clean heart create for me, God; renew within me a steadfast spirit…”  [Psalm 51:12,  NAB] In the spirit of generosity of goods, prayer, and stewardship, I hope to find a clean heart. How about you?

e0bd8332-062d-43d9-abf9-346ef1caf1b3

Leave a Reply

