Finally…Friday!

The end of the traditional work week is aglow today with budding branches, delightful daffodils, and the warm scent of Spring in Wisconsin! Such  a fine day it is to reflect on and wallow in the New Life of the Easter Season, for the hope of New Life is woven deep into our souls.

I continue to share my prayer/poetry that has been inspired by those who have shared with me their stories of sexual violence. Today’s reflection begins to turn the corner to hope, healing and New Life.

Bask in this hope…

 

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; before you came to birth I consecrated you”

[Jer 1:5]

Is it true God?

Have you known me all these long years

before I came to birth,

even prior to conception;

have you held me in your hand

lovingly

like a mama cradling her infant with tenderness and care,

like a mother protecting me in the holy warmth and darkness

of your very womb?

In the darkness I have groped and suffered

never knowing that you gripped my life,

holding me tight

almost suffocating me with love,

but I could not feel

or know

or see

that it was you

or even have guessed that

I was embraced in love;

Until the soft light gently spilling through the tunnel of life,

bringing me to birth,

caressed me

and then,

I see that even in my utmost pain

my murkiest moments

it is your love that breathes me alive.

Rebirth me Mother God,

into the light that is you,

into your relentless love,

into your enduring promise of new life.

©Nancie Chmielewski  updated 4/17/15

new life

2 thoughts on “Finally…Friday!

Leave a Reply

