Monday Spiritual Ruminations: a spiritual chiropractor

Who do you call when your spirituality needs to be “unkinked”?

I dial up my spiritual Director a.k.a. Spiritual Companion, Spiritual Guide.

I initiated a meeting in November of 1999 and we have been meeting monthly since!

When stopping to survey the territory covered in this time of companionship, we find ourselves surprised at how it has endured, for not all Director/Directee fellowships take on such life.

Why do I continue to seek her fellowship?

She knows the questions to pose when my facial expressions are tortured, sad, seeking, or in wonderment.

She sits with me in quiet when silence is the only language we can conjure.

She passes the tissues when tears start to flow as I unravel the knots of some tangled introspection, hurt or wound.

She has logged long miles accompanying me as I’ve traversed mountain, meadow and the canyon floors of my spiritual journey.

I value her companionship like no other.

Her honesty, insights, blessing and willingness to stay the course help me see, hear and respond to the unfolding of God’s sometimes ragged  map of love in my life.

She holds my spiritual weaknesses, growth and frailties in a sacred trust.

For all this, I am grateful.

So I ask again, how do you “unkink”  your spirituality?? Who helps you work out the knots?

[Next Monday…more about this ministry]

loom knots

Leave a Reply

