Monday Spiritual Ruminations: Feeling the feeling….

“Stay with that feeling”, my spiritual Director advises me. “Can you do that?”

“Yes.”

I can do that.  I am able, sometimes barely, to stay with the dark, dragging down of my spirit.

Today, I am exhausted spiritually. I am tempted to cover up the exhaustion with mind numbing television shows or endless hours of spider solitaire, or even, with a lot of chocolate.

But I am staying with the feeling.

*************************************

Change sometimes enters our lives like an earth tremor, rocking, shaking loose the foundations upon which we travel daily.

Then again, it sneaks in, stealthily, like the dusky clouds at sunset–beautiful in gold and fuchsia tones singing with the end of day birdsongs until the sun dips behind them in the sweet spot that hails darkness and night.

One action, one choice, one decision begins a chain yanking effect that encompasses a family, a community, a nation, a world.

Are we awake enough to even realize that something or somebody initiated the action before it is upon us like the ground shaking with violent waves, skewing our momentum?

*************************************

Change is inevitable, for we all have a path to follow.

When those paths converge and lives are enmeshed as a family, with ups and downs but with lots of love, then the gift is so normal that we might fail to recognize it as gift.

Until the chain is yanked a bit, that is.

“Can you stay with this uncomfortable feeling?”

“Yes.”

I can stay with it. I must sit with it and be fully present to the lessons it has to offer me.

The discomfort is gift, too….

lake michigan

Leave a Reply

