Feathering Friday: A New You??

First: a beauty wrap up–I am pleased as can be with my Origins samples! So pleased, in fact, that I did not go any further with the Dermalogica packet.

The Origins products interact well with my Estee Lauder creams and cosmetics. That is a good thing!

Over the next year, as I empty containers and arrive at expiration points on others, I think I will move into more Origins skin care.

That s done!

Now onto today’s thought–a new you?

The last few weeks have keenly impressed upon me the amount of product we consume when seeking to be beautiful.

I saw a blurb online the other day–I believe it was on Refinery 29 but not positive–that showed a number of celebrities (just saying…I didn’t recognize any of them) who were willing to be photographed and featured publicly without make-up.

These women were very pretty–in fact, they were beautiful.  The made up and non-makeup shots did lead me to believe that they were still wearing vestiges of some cosmetic (or perhaps, they were cleverly photo shopped?? just my observation). Regardless, I saw their beauty. Hmmm… on my non-make-up days, I see a paler, less defined face in the mirror, but yet, a lovely lady smiles back at me!

The take-away here?

I have never refused to talk with someone or help them if they were not wearing make-up.  The real person always manages to come through regardless of the clothing or the cosmetics; the feathering or the flaunting.  An old adage says it best: “You can take the woman out of the country, but you can’t take the country out of the woman.”  We might also say, “City, suburb, seashore” or any other locale, and it would still ring true.

We are who we are from our inner being. If we are ugly inside, no amount of outer configuration will rescue us. The feathering might fool folks for a while, but the real soul always makes an appearance. The same is true of real beauty.

So then, why do I concern myself with clothing, jewelry, cosmetics?

Quite honestly for me, it is a matter of two things:

  1. Self-expression–I enjoy the process of getting dressed each day. It is a large-scale art project of sorts, and it is fun!
  2. I am rooted in the Sacred–I know myself to be a child of God, worthy to be cared for and loved; thus, I will respect and care for the temple I have been blessed to live in.

These are not just Nancie-isms, but truth for us all.

Happy Friday.

Just me

Leave a Reply

