Monday Spiritual Ruminations: Birth

The announcement came Thanksgiving Day.

For the next 6 months, notes and pictures exchanged hands via the wonders of texting.

A shower gathered friends and family together and an almost ripe momma presided over the festivities and food.

At this event, there is  advice given; stories swapped, the young women rolling their eyes at the ancients and the elders chuckling under their breath–“just wait honey…”

Finally, the ring tone rouses us from our Saturday sleep and my son is smiling in his voice as he says, “Hi Granny!”

We have been patiently but anxiously awaiting this moment and are instantly alert.

“She is here!”

We ask a thousand sleepy, excited questions and shortly the first pictures form on our iphones.

My God, she is beautiful!

Fourteen hours later, she rests in my arms.

So tiny and light, skin softer than anything I can even describe.

I place my index finger under her wee hand, noting the long, thin graceful fingers.

Her cheeks are gently full, hue of peaches and cream, the chin forming a tiny rounded point.

Such peace.

What is ahead for her? Will she enjoy running in the summer grasses, chasing a dog, riding a bike, dancing with the daisies?

Will her heart call to quiet days of books, puzzles, crayons and papers?

I set aside my wonderings as for now, she sleeps in my embrace.

I cherish this moment–there will not be another like it for her and I.

Before we leave, we impart a blessing upon her:

“May you be blessed with grace and love and goodness and know you are a child of God.”

What more can we ask?

finished blanket

3 thoughts on “Monday Spiritual Ruminations: Birth

Leave a Reply

