Feathering Friday: [Un] trending now…

I spent some time perusing style.com this morning.

I enjoy playing the game of “guess the trends” as I page through the upcoming collections of some of my favorite designers and those whom I find unique.

If you would indulge me, let me share my editorial observations:

Fashion springs from the ground up, from art exhibits, from world events both joyous and catastrophic, from groundswell attitudes and philosophical movements, and from intellectual points of view.

Decisions are made for us by the “Miranda Priestley’s” of the world and many of us eventually buy in, even if it is at the Wal-Mart level. In fact, I think it is the fashion editors that create the trends–picking and sorting through the collections, saving what sparks their imaginations, splicing it with another designers work, and tossing the rest.

The key to a successful design is to take something from the past that resonates with today and then create through a new lens, projecting into the future. If the look does not resonate with the zeitgeist, it will simply fade away, appearing to be an attempt at vintage, or worse yet, l a frumpy remake.

So, what are the trends I spotted?

If you never lived through the 60’s, you will indeed have your opportunity–the mod look;  bohemian garments; and everything short and long.

My personal comfort zone is the nod to the 70’s–midi skirts, long sweaters with thick belts,  boots, and trousers. The genius  this time however, is the addition of fur trimmings, scarves, and hats. Michael Kors and Ralph Lauren–two designers who I think really “get” the American woman–created wearable, beautiful and well crafted clothing in this style realm for Fall.

Dolce and Gabbana showed what I felt were 50’s/early 60’s lady looks, but with a bit of a tongue in cheek viewpoint. Rather fun and beautiful–wondering a bit about their social statement with the Mother/Daughter, child and maternity garments.  I love how they fearlessly follow their bliss!

Ultimately, these and the various other trends are speaking to life as we live it or desire it: revolution, liberation, darkness, simplicity, sophistication, wealth, diversity, all play their role.

So I wonder, what will win out, if anything? Will we each grab onto what reflects our worldview, or shall we be bold, and create something to speak honestly of who we are?

What about you?

face from steph wedding

Leave a Reply

