A Wondrous Feathering Friday: at the Sheep and Wool Fest!

Since the week is a bit off kilter for me, I am doing a Wednesday/Friday combine today!

[Next week, I will do the beauty blog]

I made my annual trek to the Wisconsin Sheep and Wool Festival this morning with a very specific agenda in hand. I have found that having a shopping list is a good way to traverse these shows.  I am especially given over to fatigue at these events, so I did my homework (checking out the list of vendors ahead of traveling) and made for the building that hosted said vendors.

The project I am undertaking is to create a ruana for the Fall and Winter (and most likely Spring) seasons.

My preferred color scheme is cream, taupe, grey and a dark turquoise or teal.

I knew I would find these colors without any problem.  The true joy of walking the fest is that of touching the yarns, discovering new fiber combinations and spinning variations, and speaking to the vendors who are quite knowledgeable about their trade.

I bought primarily from Weavers Loft.  The varieties of yarns are amazing–100% silk, alpaca lace weight, alpaca and silk blend, and bamboo.  I plan to mix the warps as well as the wefts.

The final skein came as I searched for just the right shade of taupe.  I stumbled upon a natural color tagged as rose gray from Enchanted Meadows–perfecto!

sheep and woolfest haul 2015

A goal I have pursued in each weaving project undertaken is to try either a new fiber or a new pattern.  I’ve not decided on the exact pattern option for the ruana yet, but the fiber soup is delicious!

Pictures will be posted…

Leave a Reply

