Wondrous Wednesdays: Who/what is your Creative Muse?

Since I am in that lovely limbo space between projects, I thought that today would be a great time to reflect on the muse.

When reflecting, I like to do the nerdy thing of looking to the dictionary.

Muse as an act: to muse is to think, ponder, consider, mull over, cogitate (LOVE that term!), deliberate, reflect on, chew over (another fascinating synonym) and ruminate.

Muse as an object: an artist’s inspiration, the source of inspiration, the gift or talent of an artist; in Greek mythology, one of the nine daughters of Zeus and Mnemosyne who inspired and presided over the creative arts. [Thank you online dictionary!]

Still with me?

Great–then let’s muse over our muses…

I am drawn to the organic world when contemplating a new jewelry design, colors and textures for weaving and patterns for silk painting. Textures in nature and the hues that surface seasonally drive my imagination. The strongest of the seasons for me is Autumn (for reasons more sentimental than of particular color). I would conclude that the Fall with it’s many deep memories, scents, textures and tones is my primary muse. Not to be forgotten, however, is my totem, the Peacock.  I live in the various shades of blue and green dancing in this creature’s plumage! I suspect that some deep seated archetypes drive my connect with this bird, the season of Fall and the organic nature and beauty of each. (Where is Jung when you need him??)

Perhaps it is good for us to dialogue with that muse in our lives and reground and then re-launch our gift of the creative.

So, I invite you to muse on these questions–

IMG_0552

What or who is your muse? What is it whispering to your creative soul?

peacock eye

2 thoughts on “Wondrous Wednesdays: Who/what is your Creative Muse?

  1. My muse is what I do for a career. I am present for others. As a psychotherapist I spend hours dally listening to others recount the horror and cruelty of humanity. I then get to help my clients find a way to way to reconnect with the world after having been wounded. I find my clients to be inspiring as they attempt to recreate their lives. Others may find that depressing. Because it is my muse, it speaks to my heart and is an inspiration! I did not chose to be a therapist. It chose me. ( All part of the muse of my heart)

Leave a Reply

