Monday Spiritual Ruminations: Hope in the face of violence

If you are unaware of the degree of violence that infiltrates our daily living, I respectfully suggest that you are living under a rock.

Violence is woven into everyday actions to the point that it has attained the power of becoming a societal norm.

Am I jaded?

I do not believe so, but I have become accustomed to violence in some respects.

Still, a siren brings me to prayer.

A report of yet another shooting or mass murder chills my soul, saddens my heart.

*****************************

The Ministry I do has raised my awareness of the epidemic of domestic and sexual violence within our neighborhoods. It doesn’t matter if the abodes are mansions or shacks, if the area is a ghetto or a suburb. The devastation occurs everywhere and in every town.

*****************************

A number of years ago, a friend recommended that I read Riane Eisler’s book, “The Chalice and the Blade.” If you have never done so, read it. I guarantee, you will be challenged. You may even be tempted to throw it down, but persevere. Please.

There are two thoughts from Eisler’s book that are my “go to’s” and help me deal with the violence around us:

  • Global violence ultimately has its roots in intimate and local violence
  • We are made to be in partnership with each other

I encourage you to ponder these two thoughts this week, and if you are comfortable, share them here.

I offer this reflection as a starting point of hope in the face of violence.

[October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month.]

100_4621

4 thoughts on “Monday Spiritual Ruminations: Hope in the face of violence

  1. I work with domestic violence daily as a family therapist. Im helping a woman fighting her third round of breast cancer and gets pulled out of bed nightly to her boyfriends drunken tirades. She is learning to fight back and empower herself and daughter. Domestic violence works because the woman believes the negative things said about her by others. We woman should be building up one another, not tearing each other down.Thanks Nancie for the dv awareness. I say the prayer ” Deliver us from evil” as I walk with clients to my room. I never know what evil lies to be discovered.

  2. My husband works in our local court house, and he handles all the criminal cases…violence is everywhere. I often become still when he shares a bit of what he knows…but what keeps him from becoming jaded is praying over each folder that comes to his desk. Thank you so much for sharing. mari

Leave a Reply

