Feathering Fridays: My coloring box…

I love to color.

Give me a fresh box of good old waxy scented crayolas, some great sketch paper, and I’m off and running with my imagination.

I suspect that my crayon box days of yore ignited my passion for playing with make-up.

Today, I thought it would be fun to share a few of my recent coloring box additions:

Estee Lauder has a new line of lip stain/stick/gloss: Pure Color Envy Liquid Lip Potion.

EL lipstick

Hmmm…this stuff seemed to have my name written all over it so I bit–tried the bittersweet tone.

The lip potion comes in the familiar Pure Color envy square shaped case but this one unscrews to open.  The pigment is on a shaped brush that resembles a compact curled mascara wand. It is recommended to use a lip liner first but I don’t care much for them. I begin in the middle of my lips and carefully spread the color outward. The lip potion comes in 16 tones that range from rose to red, to brown plums to purple. Very fun!

What I love about this product–color stays with eating and coffee sipping for about 5 hours; very soft; color fades into a stain which is good since I went darker; feels like silk going on.

What I don’t care for–if applied too heavy, it is a little messy and Goth (not a good look for moi...)

Estee Lauder managed to hit me in the crayon box with another fun find, their Magic Smoky Powder Shadow Stick. Again, right in my wheelhouse!

EL pencils

This item is what it says–powder eye shadow in a pencil form. The pencil is wood and needs sharpening. The instinct is to pick up the pencil and color or draw!  It comes in eight shades–pinks, browns, grays and blues– four dark and the other four light.  All can be worn alone or in duos or…use your imagination!

I purchased scorched gold and slow burn–both in the taupe family.

What I love about this product–simple to use, light and easy to blend.

What I dislike about this product–the pencils need to be sharpened just about every time they are used or they do not deposit the shadow well.  The wood pencil portion actually felt harsh on my skin.

That’s my feather report this Friday. What’s in your coloring box???

Do share.

Leave a Reply

