Feathering Fridays: True Confessions of a Project Runway Geek….

With thoughts sublime, inane, and somewhere in between,I offer you these reflections on my enjoyment of Project Runway:

Truth: when I first heard of this show, we did not have cable. I was wont to dismiss it regardless of that fact, thinking, “seriously? what next? Is this the survivor mentality gone astray?”

Truth: my youngest daughter rented season one and two, brought it home to share with me and voila! I was hopelessly hooked.

Truth: we entered the world of cable not too long after this episode and both my husband and I were locked in to watching, season after season…

Truth: I majored in Fashion Design in college.

What delights me about the show: the creativity of many of the challenges! Mood Fabrics–and, after having visited in person, I can honestly say it is so much better than the precious few glimpses we get weekly in the PR series.

Further delights: the antics in the workroom, the personality meshing and clashing, the personalities– period. Tim Gunn reminds me of my mentor. The whims of the judges–sometimes well informed and other times, hmmm…not so sure…are true to the subjectivity of the fashion experience. All of this bears some resemblance to my days in school.

What makes me crazy: the quality of the garments and the stitching techniques, for the most part, are awful! I was trained and guided to do fabulous, detail oriented handwork. Now obviously, in the setting of the show, this is not really possible to aim for, but hacking off fabric and calling it a hem hurts my sensitivities!

More love: watching the designers grow.

More craziness: the inability of so many of the contestants to handle real bodies, real design problems, real world issues period.

A few “just gotta say-isms”: Nina, while harsh and often irritable, truly has the best eye and best sense of good design. Heidi, while certainly lovely and creative, has too much sex appeal in her vision. I will say that together, they offer some balance.

Final question for moi: I always wonder if I could do it.  Given my training and the joy I get from good fit and beautifully made garments, could I function well in that setting?  What would I do with the cattiness that often arises? And the language??? I don’t mind a “damn” here or there, but I am  not a fan of the F bomb–especially when, for some folks, it serves as the noun, verb, adverb, adjective, oh heck, 50% of their vocab.  That would make me nuts. But besides those little things, could I meet the challenges? Do I still have “it”? Did I ever have “it?” Hmmm…

You know, fashion is fun. It’s a business–big business.  Fashion is deeply woven into our First world psyche. In truth, the artful expression of clothing has always been a part of the human condition. It is  the art of the fashion world that resonates deep within me. It is the connect with my need to say, “Here I am! Good Morning world!” and “Thank You God for another opportunity to live and breathe, and be.”

And maybe that is why I really love the show. The stories and relationships are real; the desire to express oneself is basic; the hopes and dreams of people getting that chance, that break, is real life drama.  Don’t we all wonder for ourselves, what would I do if given the chance to launch into my dream, whatever that may be?

cave done 2

Hmmm…I wonder…

One thought on “Feathering Fridays: True Confessions of a Project Runway Geek….

Leave a Reply

