Monday spiritual Rumination: Thin-ness of time and space

Yes, I know, it is Tuesday.

I’m a bit jet-lagged from the time change and was busy celebrating All Soul’s Day.

Really!

Two of my favorite days of the year–All Saints on 11/1 and all Souls on 11/2–have been busy.

Busy with remembering.

Full of presence.

Dancing with thin-ness of time and space.

I haven’t completely lost it [in case you are wondering], no, the thin places are real.

They find us, and we can respond if we are open.

Two brief encounters:

Sunday, All souls Day, I sat in my favorite coffee shop, sipping a delightfully warm morning brew, and I smiled.

I felt her–Marie was somehow in one of her favorite venues–the coffee shop community she launched. Nothing weird or spooky about this. I just knew she was there.

Yesterday, All Soul’s day.  On an early morning walk and it found me. Images of farmers, the old metro riders, simpler people and simpler days in this spot in which I traversed the sacred ground.

Not ghosts or zombies or any of that silliness.

No, a crossing of the boundaries.

A thin place.

A rush of memory held in place by tree and vegetation, footfall on trail, cloud above.

A blurring of the lines between heaven and earth.

Just momentarily, but for real.

May those thin places be awoken in your life.

thin place nov 2015thin place swing

A belated All Saints/All Souls to you all.

2 thoughts on “Monday spiritual Rumination: Thin-ness of time and space

Leave a Reply

