Wondrous Wednesdays: why I sew…

 

This seems to be my week for making lists.

So I offer you 10 reasons for why I sew:

  1. When I was a little girl, I loved to pull out my Mom’s rose printed hat box that held treasures of fabric scraps. I would cut and pin and stitch my way through these scraps creating odd but enjoyable bits of doll clothes
  2. Mom—always a fashion plate in her own right—advised my sisters and I to learn to sew if we wanted nice clothes. Five children and Catholic school out did a wild clothing budget!
  3. Fabric jazzes me.
  4. I love to manipulate textiles
  5. Great fabric takes me to the Garden of Imagination. Bigtime.
  6. The high I get when I have accomplished a handmade garment with quality skills and materials that looks like a million bucks (but costs very little)
  7. Can you say–One.of.a.kind?
  8. Keeping alive an art. I am connecting with men and women through the centuries, but also touching the talents of artists alive now.
  9. It’s fun!!
  10. Sewing is creating, and I love to create. It is deep in my DNA, and I hope, a contribution I can make to this world.

So…future projects:

WIN_20160127_18_02_28_Pro.jpg

Have a Wondrous Wednesday!

4 thoughts on “Wondrous Wednesdays: why I sew…

  1. I love to sew too, it is right up there on my list at #2, right after reading. My mom also encouraged me to sew by offering to buy me fabric and patterns but not clothes beyond necessity (I had 7 brothers). Still I did have a budget for my fabric and very quickly learned to go to thrift shops for fabric, buttons, and notions. I could purchase better quality than I could afford if I deconstructed clothing to scavenge what I needed. Needless to say, my clothes were definitely one of a kind, but worth every minute of work they took to make.

  2. I grew up in at a time when there were still home economics classes in junior high as well as high school. My mother sewed when we were younger but with 6 kids didn’t really have as much time for sewing. My sister and I made most of our own clothes as did most of my friends. We traded patterns back and forth and helped each other learn to sew zippers and such. It was a lot of fun. When my kids came on the scene I made most of their clothes until they reached an age when they didn’t want to be seen in ‘homemade’ clothes anymore. After that I stopped sewing for many years and didn’t start sewing again for quite a while. I love sewing- it’s relaxing, it’s fun, and it’s great to share or keep the finished items! Love your list! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

