Monday spiritual Rumination: a humble reflection…

A few years ago, I enrolled in a Spiritual Direction Training program.

This decision was the culmination of a great deal of discernment and searching, in which I concluded that I needed some official acknowledgement and further growth in an aspect of life that was second nature to me.

Maybe even first nature.

And so, I began my two-year adventure with the Sacred Journey Spiritual Companioning School.

Those years opened my heart and mind, stretched my soul, and introduced me to new friends whom I respect and love.

In short, this era of my life bore great fruit.

Harvesting that fruit gave me hope that, perhaps a ministry of spiritual direction would be a great way to spend my retirement.

At the very least, I knew that some official training could only help me in the day to day ministry efforts in parish life.

And so it has.

But lately, I sense a new movement, almost as though the word is out, radar has been unleashed, and I am a walking neon sign advertising “direction to all who enter here.”

I am not complaining, not at all.

What I feel right now, however, is a sense of carrying, toting, sharing the load of so many in need.

I can let it go, give it into God’s loving arms. Easily in fact.

What I am moved to is a stance of humble reflection:

  1. My life is so extremely blessed
  2. I am surrounded by a community of real people striving to live with genuine integrity
  3. Those lives are really messy
  4. Heartache knows no bounds, gender, economic strata or anything else
  5. We are all extraordinarily human, vulnerable and in need of love
  6. God is in the midst of it all, arms open wide, warm in embrace and never ending in invitation and love.

So tonight, I lift all of these companions in life, in seeking and in hoping, to the one who is love.

Tomorrow, we shall begin anew, more stories, more tears, more prayer and more love.

Amen.

019a2f92612cf059af814002490e8de0cf5443374d.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Monday spiritual Rumination: a humble reflection…

  1. I truly believe we are all called to serve. I so admire your openness to what God has in store for you. You will be in my prayers!

  2. “What I feel right now, however, is a sense of carrying, toting, sharing the load of so many in need.”

    That statement describes to a “t” the journey of this old Padre… A year of pastoral clinical training in an AF hospital (Clinical Pastoral Education) helped me to find a way of processing and letting it/them go into God’s arms… What I found out at the end of my 26 year journey in uniform (my last assignment with the AF) was that my own personal life was falling apart and the “stuff” I had let go of came back… Yet, as you said, after some time in the wilderness, I was able to let it go into the arms of God.

    Walked no, loving, living, and praying in the journey with you, dear Nancie

Leave a Reply

