Wondrous Wednesdays: from the ashes…

This is Wednesday, Wondrous Wednesday according to how I post.

In the big world outside of this humble blog, it is Ash Wednesday.

To those of you of a Christian background, you would know that this day is the start of the season of Lent. [see my post from this past Monday if you want to know more]. For you who are of another tradition, may I offer a simple explanation as a way of moving forward in this post?

Lent is a season of penitential focus, of growth in faith through Christ. We sign ourselves with ashes to recall that we were made from earth and to the earth we shall return. We actually say “dust” not earth, but you get the picture.

Back to the post—Wondrous Wednesdays are supposed to be about the creative endeavor.

In keeping with that creative vibe, I would like to share a prayer about creation, re-creating and growth that this time of Lent offers:

Create in me a clean heart, O God,
and put a new and right
spirit within me.
Do not cast me away from your presence,
and do not take your holy spirit from me.
Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
and sustain in me a willing
spirit.

[Psalm 51:1-12, NRSV]

Words of hope, comfort, challenge.

Words to sit with, pray over, embody.

Words to live by and grow with.

Creative words.

Enjoy this sung version of Psalm 51–Create a clean heart in me, by Lorraine Hess

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZDSDQ9nPgo

Happy Lent…

 IMG_0706 (2)

Leave a Reply

