Monday/Tuesday Mash up– Spiritual Rumination and the Ides…

We are near the end of Lent.

It is week 5.

My plate is quite full.

Quite.

[So is everyone’s else’s plate, by the way.]

Long days into late nights do not make for blogging on the schedule I prefer, so thus, we are doing a mash-up of days this week. So, let’s do it!

March 15—Beware the Ides of March! I am not a connoisseur of Shakespeare, but I do believe this infamous quote came from Julius Caesar. [please feel free to correct me if I am wrong here.] We all know what happened to good ol’ Julius, right? His murder came at the hands of betrayers mid March—the Ides.

I ponder this a bit every March 15. Not obsessively, mind you–that would be creepy–but I do let my mind go there. Why? I don’t really know for sure, but my life experience of mid-March goes beyond St. Patty and the NCAA Tournament. All of my life, mid-March has been a time of great crabbiness, great Ide-ness.

If you are still reading this, you may be wondering, where is she going with all of this crabby chat?

I cannot promise anything close to profound here, but this is where I am headed: a mid-March list of Ide-ness.

  1. People are cranky at this time of year because we are so over winter. As in completely totally done. Done.
  2. The longer daylight is a tease, tempting us to dress in Spring clothes, and then running the car heater on high to thaw out and stop shivering
  3. Fruit is expensive and tastes like cardboard
  4. Ditto on vegetables with the exception of asparagus. [one can only consume so much asparagus…]
  5. The lawn damage done by voles slinking beneath the snow has come into view and is just plain depressing.
  6. Cabin fever in all its insidious forms
  7. The flu is remaking its rounds. Yuk!
  8. The start of baseball season is still a couple of weeks away
  9. Lent is long. Long. Long and I for one, am still playing catch-up from an early Lent virus.
  10. The full moon approaches…need I say more???

And that, friends, is my sense of why folks are plain and simply crabby during March. The Ides just ramp it up a bit.

And yet, hope springs eternal.

In a few weeks, an extra dose of sunshine, warmer temps, short sleeves, better fruit and veggies, blooming blossoms and the sweet sound of Easter Alleluias, and all will be well.

All will be well….

August sun 2 (2)

 

 

Leave a Reply

