Monday Spiritual Rumination: Your Arms of Strength and Love…

First of all, I know it is Tuesday. Let’s just pretend it is Monday.

Next piece of business: I’ve published this prayer/poem before but it springs from deep within my soul. Around 18-20 years ago, I had a dream that was so very vivid, I continue to go back to it so as to mine its richness. This prayer is that dream. I think it speaks for itself. May it offer you some goodness as well.

 

Desert walking,

sand and wind etch my face;

the heat of day withers my spirit,

the cold at night leaves me in fear.

All around me there is nothing new

until

I glimpse a faraway oasis–

green trees and moist grass

(could it be?)

I’m on my knees, crawling to you

and then you pick me up

and wrap me in your arms of strength and love

and I know you are with me and I with you.

In your arms of strength and love.

 

I had a dream once

that I was climbing a ladder

and my body was hurting and worn

and my hands were cut and bleeding.

Just as I didn’t think I could climb one more step

my hands touched your hands

and you pulled me up,

(without the least effort)

and carried me lovingly and gently to the Parent God

and I rested in your arms of strength and love

like a baby

and I knew you were with me and I with you

in your arms of strength and love.

 

All around me there is fog

and I really can’t say where I should be going

yet each day I feel you at my side,

(or in front of me,

or behind me,)

and you guide my feet just one more step

and I know that as I go along

I will glimpse you through the mist

and you will be waiting to hold me

in your arms of strength and love

and that is all I will need,

your arms of strength and love.

 

©Nancie Chmielewski updated 4/29/15

 

 lake michigan

4 thoughts on “Monday Spiritual Rumination: Your Arms of Strength and Love…

Leave a Reply

