Feathering Fridays: it’s never too late…

You know the movie, “Never Been Kissed”?

It’s like that, only in my case, the movie would be called, “Never Gone to Prom.”

When I was in High School—a very tight cliqued high school—one would never go to prom without a date. Never. Well, my date didn’t–wouldn’t unless he had a lot to drink and even then not so much– dance. So that was my “fate.” [And that is another story for another day.]

In all fairness, I was asked to go to prom by a guy I went out with one time.  I was miserable on that adventure and I can’t imagine he really had any fun either. I could not justify saying yes to prom with this young man for the sheer sake of saying I had gone to prom. It just did (and still does) seem wrong.

But all things seem to come full circle, don’t they?

In college, I went to a number of dinner dances with my now husband. We danced, I wore nice dresses, flowers were shared, and most important, we really enjoyed each other!

Our kids all went to prom—some with groups, some with dates, one with a blind date, one on her own! The school they attended was encouraging with the idea of kids simply attending. I think that is wonderful!

My husband has been teaching at that school for 37 years. We have chaperoned our share of homecoming dances and winter formals. He has helped out at post prom events for many of those 37 years. This year, the school decided to do away with post prom and just extend the prom itself. He was asked, “Would you and your wife like to chaperone prom?”  I said to him, “you know I’ve never been to Prom,” followed by, “and I am going to get myself a prom dress!”

And so I did. I found a beauty for $60.00. All rose gold sequins, just the right amount of form fit, a long and lean slit at the side, and a neckline and arm shape that is attractive for anyone. This is classy, not trashy.

It is the type of dress I’ve coveted for eons, but never had an occasion to don such a garment.

Well, now I do. I also happen to have jewelry and shoes and a bag that work perfectly. A little Essie nail polish in Buy Me a Cameo, some Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess gelee bronzer, lip & cheek in sunburst, Double Wear eye pencil in gold, & hot cinnamon shimmer shadow and I should be good to go. Did I mention the lovely pashmina I found on clearance at Kohl’s for $5.50?  This is Wisconsin after all….

I am looking forward to the evening at the Art Museum with a large group of really fine young people and especially for some royal date time with my Tom. It’s never too late, you know…

More pics next week!

prom dress 2prom dress close up

prom colors 1prom color swatches

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Feathering Fridays: it’s never too late…

Leave a Reply

