Feathering Fridays: wanting…

Last week, I shared my experience with the styling service, Stitch Fix.

This week, I’d like to tell you about a similar service, Wantable.

Wantable, is an online beauty, accessories and lingerie service. They recently branched out to clothing as well, offering styling advice. Especially noteworthy is that this company is Milwaukee based. And you thought we only produced beer and cheese…

Here are some specifics on Wantable, from their own website:

How Wantable Works

We navigate the world of fashion and beauty to bring you the latest trends, personalized just for you and delivered to your doorstep each month. Choose from our Collection or Edit services, take a quick style quiz, and discover handpicked items chosen to perfectly match your preferences. Keep what you love, return what you don’t. Returns are free and you can cancel or skip any time.

The Collections

Our Collection service includes our Makeup, Accessories, and Intimates. Your first Collection is $40 for Makeup or Accessories and $50 for Intimates, and after your “keep all” credit, every month afterwards is $36 (or $46 for Intimates). You’ll receive 3-5 items and a happiness guarantee. If you love them all, they’re yours to keep at no additional cost. If you’re not in love, returns are easy and free for domestic customers. International customers can read more about your options here.

The Edits

Our Edit service includes Style and Fitness. It’s a personal shopping service for apparel. For a $20 per month styling fee, one of our Style Editors will handpick 5 items for you to try on at home. Take 5 days to try on the items to decide what you love and what you’d like to return. You’re only billed for what you keep, and we include a return label to make it easy and convenient. Our Style and Fitness Edits are currently only available for U.S. customers.

I signed on to Wantable last January after learning about this service two or three years ago. Why did I wait so long? I think I needed to convince myself that it was for real and that I could benefit from what they offer. In the end, I decided to try tit out because I’m not getting any younger sitting around and waiting.

So, of course, I opted for the make-up service.

My first box was filled with a lipstick, a foundation, a black tone eye liner pencil and a champagne colored shadow. LOVE the shadow; pencil is not bad; the lipstick is ok—a nice wine tone—but a little too sheer for me. The foundation—very thick, too dark and never really set. I did toss that one away.

I waited two months before agreeing to box number two. This time my surprise contents included purple nail polish, a Color science 4 tone palette of shadows in lilacs and pinks; a purple eye liner pencil and another lipstick. I kept all 4 pieces again. The Color Science palette is a great product; I’ve only worn the pencil once; haven’t tried the nail polish; the lip color was a little warmer wine tone than I care for.

I gave the lipsticks to my Mom.

While I like the concept of this service, I decided to cancel this subscription as well. I really do not need hit and miss cosmetics at this point of life.

I came, I tried, I conquered!

I would love to hear from you about any of these types of services you have tried.

Go forth and feather your Friday…

self portrait color march 22 2016

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

