Feathering Fridays: summer go-to’s…

I realize that the summer solstice is not for a few weeks yet, but summer has made a welcome appearance here! I’ve donned the light clothing, sandals, and sun-gear. Folks are cutting the lawns, planting gorgeous flowers, cooking out, and boating.  I’ll be preparing chicken salad and corn on the cob later this weekend and we’ll be attending a graduation party as well.

In Wisconsin, the running joke is this: if you don’t like the weather, wait 10 minutes and it will change.  It’s quite likely that I may need pants and a sweater sometime next week, or, I may need to turn on the air conditioning.

All this weather talk has a purpose—not only do my clothes and shoes need to be changed up due to a wide variety of temps, but my make-up needs some finessing as well.

Today, I claimed a no-make-up day. That translates to, just a CC cream and some lip stick, letting my hair air dry without any rhyme or reason, and some sun screen for good measure.

On a work day, I will apply my new Aveda serum, Daily Light Guard, after moisturizing. Here is what the Aveda website says about this new mineral based serum:

“Let Nature help defend your skin’s natural beauty with sheer, weightless defense against the elements that damage skin.

  • with 100% mineral-derived sunscreens: advanced coating technology makes zinc oxide and titanium dioxide glide on sheer and smooth as they provide UVA/UVB protection
  • with plant-derived pollution defense: kukui seed oil helps strengthen skin’s natural environmental barrier, while an anti-oxidant blend with ginger extracts helps defend against free radical damage
  • dermatologist-tested
  • non-acnegenic
  • for all skin types
  • 74% naturally derived* *From plants, non-petroleum minerals or water.”

A little Giorgio Armani Lasting Silk Uv Foundation Spf 20v, some Estee Lauder Pure Color Lip and Cheek Summer Glow in sunburst, and a little nude or pink lipstick creates a soft summery face.

My go-to summer eye shadows are also Estee Lauder—Magnetic Rose and Hyper Teal with some Jane Iredale mascara.

Finally, I add a little Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess gelee for a little more warmth and glow and I’m set for 12 hours!

How do you “face up” to summer?

WIN_20160603_19_14_39_Pro (2)

 

 

5 thoughts on “Feathering Fridays: summer go-to’s…

    1. Quite honestly, it does not have any staying power–4 hours and it has disappeared in terms of acting as a tinted moisturizer. I’ve not reaped any benefits from it in terms of lightening dark spots. It works as a low day make-up and as a primer. I will not re-buy.

      1. Thats such a pity! I would have expected much better from Estee Lauder as it is known as a quality brand. Thanks for sharing your experience of it, I was thinking of purchasing it before, but definitely wont be now! Have a lovely weekend 🙂

    1. I love it–easy application; light but great coverage; terrific staying power. I use a very small amount to achieve these results. Definitely worth the price. Good luck & thanks for asking!

Leave a Reply

