Wondrous Wednesdays: the little pink dress…

This last weekend offered time to for me to catch up on some projects, tie up a few loose ends, and crimp several broken pieces of jewelry.

Foremost among these was completing my granddaughter’s little pink dress.

I began said garment about six weeks ago and then hit a snag. After holding the garment up to my dear little one, I was able to move past the sizing snag and finish up the outfit.

Garment specifics: I worked with a lovely piece of rose print cotton broadcloth to create a curved yoke with a box pleated dress body. As I assembled the dress, I felt that an under layer of some sort would be good as the fabric was a bit shear to stand on its own. Also, an under layer would provide a little bit of body.  I dug through my stash and discovered some linen pieces with an embroidered edge that I’d been given years ago. This did the trick! The final touch was to add straps that button in the back and little “false buttons” on the front—little fabric roses!

A couple months ago while shopping at Kohl’s, I picked up an adorable white eyelet onesie that goes under the ensemble.

mallie dress 1

Okay…. now back to my creative list….

Leave a Reply

