Feathering Fridays…trying it on

One of the things I have come to enjoy about my Fridays and Saturdays is that one or both of these days can become “No Make-Up” opportunities.

I enjoy cosmetics and skin care and all that it entails. But I do find it refreshing to go truly naked and not just wear cosmetics that make my skin appear to be so. In that spirit, I have a brief review on looking naked while wearing foundation.
Estee Lauder is currently promoting a new 8-hour foundation–Double Wear Nude Cushion Stick Radiant Makeup. It comes in 17 different shades and is promoted as sheer to medium coverage with buildable options. It is the latest addition to their natural nude look line of cosmetics.

Part of the promotion of this new foundation is to provide an interested shopper with a 10-day free supply that is scientifically color matched to your face.

I was tending to some errands this morning and wandered past the EL counter at the Boston Store. The lovely EL clinician invited me to try this great new find! Never one to turn down something free, I agreed to have my skin matched and also, to try on the foundation.

The actual packaging of this foundation includes an attached beauty blending tool. It is removable for cleaning but cannot be used in “try-ons” at the store as it they do not yet have a hygienic way to do this. Thus, I could have the color applied but not experience the sponge applicator phenomenon.

My conclusion? The product feels a lot like the Giorgio Armani foundation I am currently using. My GA lasts all day and I am accustomed to EL Double Wear products lasting all day as well. I was surprised to hear it is only an 8 hour stay. The price point is great–$39.50. I will wear it for the next 10 days and see what I think.

Happy Friday!

doublewear

 

Leave a Reply

