Feathering Fridays…a little wine

Wine, merlot, burgundy…these are the tones that are jazzing me!

A couple of Fridays ago, I shared my wish list for Fall 2016. A number of wine toned items starred on that menu of fall fun. BTW, I’ve been hacking away at that list and next week, I’ll share some pics.

But today, the wine tone has taken over my sewing space with the addition of 2 fabulous fabrics!

Via Mood Fabrics, I’ve added a lovely piece of wool challis to my stash. The challis takes me back to the late ‘70’s when challis skirts, cowl neck pullovers, and high boots were the statement outfit du jour.  [As a sideline, I was employed for a summer at Minnesota Fabrics and we couldn’t keep the stuff in the store!]

This piece of wool is printed in peacock tones and a green background. Mandala shapes grace the body of the yardage and include the aforementioned wine tone.

My 2016 version of a wool challis skirt will involve pleats. I’m imagining a long, lean garment with two-inch knife pleats all around. Additionally, I’m considering creating a waist that will hold an inserted belt, just for fun.

The second piece of fabric is a mohair blend sweater knit, in wine. My thought right now is to make a simple long open cardigan that will function almost like a ruana. I should be able to enjoy it dressed up and as a casual wrap.

Both pieces should be great with the wine Lauren shoes, the Frye boots, a black jacket, black trousers, black pumps, burgundy lipstick, and the majority of my wardrobe…

I love Fall!

wine and challis 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Feathering Fridays…a little wine

Leave a Reply

