Monday Spiritual Rumination: Pay attention…

My morning readings and reflections all conspired in their guidance today: Pay attention to the moment.

Well, I thought, this sounds good. I intentionally tasted my egg sandwich, savored those first few sips of coffee. Took in the lovely morning birdsongs, smiles, and blue sky.

Savor, take in, pay attention.

I arrived at the parish and felt it before I even unbuckled my seatbelt. The energy continued like an ocean wave as I entered the building.  A funeral was setting up. Someone needed paper and crayons for a little one’s distraction. The family gathered in the narthex, looking appropriately weary and sad. I tripped over myself trying to find something worth saying to them, and mainly uttered staid and trite words. Yikes…I’m supposed to do better than that.

Onto the office—various needs in process. I made some fresh coffee and realized that we had not ordered the magic bean all summer. Better go to the kitchen and check it out. Stopped by a co-worker who needed me that instant. More immediate concerns.

Visited the ladies room to discover that we were in great need of supplies—no maintenance until the afternoon and a funeral in process. Yet another fire.

Onto the computer. Mail responses needed now. Tasks for the Monday routine to be accomplished.

Time for that coffee refresh. What I had brewed was almost gone and cold. I grabbed it and headed for the out of doors. The late August scent of almost noon greeted me; the shadows, just so. I stopped. Breathed it in, listened and my heart resounded with the morning prayer: pay attention to the moment.

I knew the remainder of the day would be the same as the start. Some days are like that! My pre-supposition did not disappoint. My to do list was left undone.

Yet, I was able to breathe, to pay attention to the moment.

And that is a great grace.

Amen.

sister bay sunset 4

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Monday Spiritual Rumination: Pay attention…

Leave a Reply

