Wondrous Wednesdays: stitch and weave…

Inspired by the beautiful challis I recently purchased from Mood, I decided to play designer last weekend. Out came the silk pins, up went the dress form, and the draping began. I’m loving the look!

Pleats are knife style, 1.75”.

The fabric is buttery soft and thin enough to handle the folds without becoming a bulk bundle. I have only draped the front thus far, but it is enough to satisfy the design urge. More to come…

challis skirt draped

After starting the skirt, I finalized my plans to weave some kitchen towels. I have some lovely 8/2 cotton in wine (of course), khaki, natural and olive; and 8/2 brown cottolin. I warped up enough for four towels in a very Indian style stripe. Preparing the loom is always the challenge as well as reacquainting myself with how to read a draft! After paging through a stack of Handwoven magazines, I felt sure enough to opt for a design that would not only be beautiful and offer me a reasonable challenge, but that would also be something I could read and understand!

So, let the creative action begin…stich and weave…

towels in warp stage

 

Leave a Reply

