Monday Spiritual Rumination: September thoughts…

I took a little stroll last evening, before the night’s programming began. I needed some fresh air. I wanted the crickets and birdsong to whisper in my ears. I mostly just wanted to move and pray.

One last program for the day and then I could go home.

That period of time between what should be the end of a normal person’s work day and the start of the evening round is long and wearing on my spirit. Once I begin the evening work, I’m fine.

Back to my stroll. I wandered around the parking lot, taking in the evening sounds. Just above the tree line, appeared a 5/8 full moon and my imagination was piqued:

Soft as a pearl

Name of Earl

In front of whom

Flags unfurl.

 

Round like an orb

Name of Norb

Thick as a sponge

That will absorb…

 

Neither sponge nor pearl

Will fly or swirl

or who’s to say

in light of day?

 

Is it he or she

Or neither nor they?

The moon just glows

And goes and goes…

 

Got to say, I felt like I was channeling Dr. Seuss or Ogden Nash perhaps.

Okay, I’m not that good…but my mind was churning through the day by playing poetry games.

And once the silliness floated to the top, I could skim it like cream and what remained was clear:

And the Name of God is far from me

Is it he or she?

Both or they?

My box wants to hold you O God,

But this moon

This pearlescent partial orb of glowing light

In movement going and going

Across the sky

Reminds me and prods me

To say thank you

And please

And help

And wowwowwow.

 

The crickets serenade this prayer moment

And the cars bringing the evening meeting people

Are traveling and parking on this lot.

 

I say here we go.

Thanks God.

september-moon

 

Leave a Reply

