Feathering Fridays…lipping along!

I’m giving you a little lip today…in the form of a few stories and pics, that is!

Story #1:

After my foray into the world of Vice [lipstick], I visited my local Sephora to purchase the longed for Seismic lipstick. I grabbed the bullet and spied the other color that really stole my heart–Disturbed [these names make me feel like a sociopath…]. Prudence took over and I decided that it might be wise to do a live try on. Just then, a lovely Sephor-ite came by and asked if she might be of help. I explained my plight* [which becomes story#2]. She whisked out her sanitizing tools and I was on with Seismic. Big. Huge. Disappointment! It was so sheer that I could barely see it. That was not the look I was going for. I like color and opaqueness in my lippies! So, I wiped it off and swiped on Disturbed. I peered into the mirror and gasped–that was my wine, my perfect wine! I tried it on a couple of times to be sure. After various wipes and try-ons, however, I was the vision of a kid who found their Mom’s cosmetic bag and decided to play “dress up”!  I did my best to fix that ugly scene, purchased the lipstick and moved on…

Story #2:

While explaining my plight* [see above] to the lovely Sephora clerk, I shared with her my Vice App experience. She did not know of this lovely invention! Well, I just pulled out my phone and showed her how it’s done…wow! She was going to be sure that all of the Sephora clerks knew about this app and would make healthy use of it! Imagine that. Me, an almost 60-something teaching a young thing about a cosmetic app…

Story #3:

Once home, I immediately pulled out the two darker liptones from my stash of Fall/Winter colors, hoping they were not too much the same! I was a happy girl! The three bullets make a great set of wine tones! I like the Urban Decay product—soft and smooth, but I do tone it down a tad. The other two are Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy lip products. I have worn Insolent Plum for a couple seasons and find it suits me quite well. The other EL is a stain and gloss concoction that goes by the name of Bittersweet—think of the plant and you’ve nailed it. I did not wear it as often as hoped for last year–I was also experimenting with Nude tones and it the dark quality would take me by surprise when I applied it! [as an aside, I tend to be a mid of the road tone type skewing towards lighter wines and fushia-esque colors].

You probably now know more about me and lipsticks than you really care to. But I have one last hurrah to offer, and that is a swatch pic:

From right to left: Estee Lauder Insolent Plum, Estee Lauder Bittersweet, and Urban Decay Vice Disturbed.

wine-swatcheswine-lipsticks

Go find your lip joy…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

