Monday Spiritual Rumination: debating…

I took a bit of a break from writing last week, although I composed thirty thousand blogs in my head.

Not sure why the break happened, but then again, it is good for me to listen to my body rhythms and honor those needs.

So, here it is, Spiritual Rumination time and all that is on my mind is the State of the United States of America.

I have never been a red white and blue flag waving parade joining sing at the baseball games type of patriot. I find it sits uncomfortably with my soul. Don’t get me wrong here—I love my country. I am deeply grateful for the freedoms and privileges I live under everyday. I have studied my history and understand a basic principal: that is, not only do I have a right to my opinion and a freedom to express it, so do you. Sometimes that puts us at odds with each other. When that happens, we both have the responsibility to enter into dialogue, and to respect the other.

The responsibility and respect portion of this ideal has been AWOL in this country for some time now and it doesn’t appear to be making an appearance in the near future.

Tonight, my country has the opportunity to observe our two presidential candidates enter into a debate—what was once a public version of a civil discourse. If the last few months tell us anything about this election process, it is doubtful that civil will be an element of this discourse.

This saddens me a great deal. I would like to know what these two individuals have to say about real people issues. I want to be enlightened as to their level of compassion for humanity. I ache to feel their engagement with the everyday citizen who wants to work in a meaningful job, who desires to exist with a sense of integrity and dignity.

What do you think Hillary and Donald? Are you both ready to shed some light of life in the US of A? Can we cut past the disrespect, the scapegoating, the hurtful and hateful jargon?

One can only hope…I will be listening.

sky

5 thoughts on “Monday Spiritual Rumination: debating…

  1. Nancy you are very right people can’t have an opinion on politics without getting angry any more. Use to be you could have a conversation and go way knowing that you listen to each other on politics. Now family said she no don’t go there. As for Donald and Hillary I watched last night debate and Donald never said anything goes that explained how he was going to help deal with some of the issues. I’m sorry but he repeated himself way to much and it was more about himself than other Americans. Hillary was well polished and yes she did her homework but she really didn’t give an honest answer to questions. But she did say one thing at the end and that was it was up to Americans to vote how they feel. And she didn’t loose her cool on anything. Now the media is saying that she knew the questions before hand and that Lester was more against Donald and for Hillary. He tried to control and get them both back on topic but I think in a lot ways Donald tried to take over. Because of that and other reasons I’m for sure I know who gets much vote.

Leave a Reply

