Feathering Fridays…#realbeautyeverywoman

I consider myself a beauty aficionado of sorts.

I really enjoy cosmetics.

Scent is a signature everyone should have!

Love clothing, shoes, jewelry….

And, if I’m going to be totally honest here, I was absent on the day they passed out the ability to make hair look good…oh, well!

I also have a brain. A rather good one, at that!

My spirit is essential to my existence—in it, I know God’s love, my sense of integrity, dignity, purpose, wholeness.

This is the yin and yang of the human life, the in and out, the spirit and flesh.

We each are blessed with these gifts.

Some come to awareness at an early point in life; others perhaps not until death knocks.

 

The point is, we are all created in beauty.

 

The “stuff” of fashion and the beauty industry can assist in our self-awareness or it can hamper the journey.

Wouldn’t it be grand if each of us could embrace the beauty and live it? Accentuating this beauty, both inner and outer—could be so delightful!

Here is the rub—we tend to hold up a particular type or model of beauty, and then like lemmings, we all strive for that vision. C’mon—you know we do.

So today, I am sharing with you a letter I sent to the Estee Lauder Company, regarding this very idea:

Dear Media Brand executives of Estee Lauder,

 I am a long time customer of your products. I became entranced and hooked in the early 1970’s with your “A Rose is a Rose is a Rose” campaign. You featured some of the loveliest eye shadow colors I had ever seen.  You had me right then. The problem was, I was a starving college kid and could not afford the product. I tried to duplicate it with no success. It was years later, when I was in my late twenties, when I could finally begin to own a piece of the EL image.

 Since that time, I have spent a great deal of money on shadow, blush, mascara, skin products, scent, and lipstick.

 But it is in the past few years, as I have become older, and wiser, that I have become a bit disillusioned with your image and dream.

 I sent you a letter after you signed on Kendell Jenner as your spokesperson/model. I felt she did not speak to me in any manner and I really did not care for the drama baggage of her sisters that she also represented. I did not think that type of drama represented the classy manner of EL.

Recently, I read an interview of her and I must say, I misjudged her. It seems as though she wanted to develop her path in the world and step away from all that drama.  Good to know.

 I must admit–she certainly is beautiful, so why wouldn’t we all want to look like her, or like some of the other gorgeous women you promote as your face? I realize you want to sell product and it makes sense to utilize a pretty face and a dream world scenario to do so.

 But here’s the deal—I see the real women who purchase your products. We are not 20-somethings whose skin and beauty is pretty much intact. No, we are a bit tired, aging, a little saggy here and there. We live real people lives, raising children, working 40+ hours a week. We do our own cooking and cleaning, gardening, and laundry. We go to your beauty counters or pop in online for a share of the fantasy. What might we look like with a little of the EL magic?  No matter how hard we try or how much we spend, we certainly will not resemble Kendell or Hillary or Joan. 

 In saying all of these things, I realize I am probably giving you the satisfaction that we are buying into the dream, regardless of the actual outcome. But imagine for just a moment, what real women could do for your products. Real faces, real lives tapping into a little glow, a little uplifting color, and then, being the beautiful real normal everyday woman we are.

 I would encourage you to lift up the real women who buy your products, wear your scents. What would a campaign of real beauty for every woman look like? A campaign that taps into the inner and outer potential and existing beauty of real, everyday normal women? This, I could support and engage.

 Think about it, won’t you please?

 Thank you.

Sincerely,

Nancie Chmielewski

#realbeautyeverywoman

Won’t you join me in sharing and posting the real beauty of who we are? Let’s start a movement: #realbeautyeverywoman

just me.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “Feathering Fridays…#realbeautyeverywoman

  1. Natalie I thoroughly endorse the sentiments expressed in your letter. Older faces can be beautiful for the character they hold. The lived lives, the challenges overcome, the joys and sorrows in all their hues. Your face is an example. EL ignore this fact at your peril.

Leave a Reply

