Feathering Fridays: October beauty odds & ends…

The end of October is here—already!

My offering today is simply odds and ends of my beauty endeavors of this past month.  If you’re still with me, here we go…

  • Weather based wardrobe: In my little corner of the world, Wisconsin, the weather dictates the manner of clothing. For me, that translates to multiple layers of just about everything. When I leave the house early in the day, I need tights, boots, perhaps trousers or a longer skirt or dress, scarf, jacket or sweater over a top with sleeves that are long and able to be pushed up. Over this ensemble, is a trench coat and gloves. By the days end, I am carrying my coat, scarf may be in my bag, sleeves pushed up…you get the idea. So my question for the fashion industry is: why so many sleeveless garments for Fall? Hmmm….
  • The Great Fashion Magazine Question: I really enjoy my fashion mags. I subscribe to the paper editions of  Harper’s Bazaar, Vogue and InStyle. The variation of editorial viewpoint is rather delightful to peruse. My question for each of these publication editors has to do with paradox. Harpers had an interesting manner of posting an “Out” list that includes at least one item that they are promoting that month. Vogue goes to great length to promote the integrity of a woman, and then carry ads or fashion spreads that present a woman in compromising terms. InStyle has come a long way but is all too concerned with celebrity photos. Just a thought InStyle editors—get photos that do both the celebrity and their “look” justice. The skewed perspectives present these women as all torso, wee little legs. Worse yet, the monthly photo story of the development of a star’s “look” over a period of years appears to have borrowed pics from the local Driver’s license renewal counter….FYI: they seem to do a better photo job online.
  • Lipstick and such: I’ve been on a consumer quest for satisfaction with product purchases. A couple weeks ago, I sent the Estee Lauder Company a letter wondering when they will feature real women in their ad campaigns. I’ve not received a response yet. The good news is that I contacted tomford.com this week regarding a broken lipstick. If you follow me, you may know of my great holy grail Tom Ford Casablanca is my perfect nude adventure. Said lip bullet broke last May while I was traveling. I let it sit all summer hoping the good old Wisconsin heat/humidity would help it to congeal. No such luck. Back to my correspondence—they contacted me the next day. After a couple email exchanges, they suggested that I go to a different company contact, more specifically involved with cosmetics. They also asked me to send photos, which I was more than happy to do. I expect to hear back early next week. My great hope is that they will replace my little treasure.
  • Final Clothing Deals: I have been seeking a floral midi dress with long sleeves, in a fabric other than chiffon or batiste. I failed to find a pattern or fabric to fit the bill. Ann Taylor offered me the perfect dress but I wanted to get it on sale. A tremendous 50% off deal dropped into my lap, but alas, I did not move quickly enough and the dress vanished! I stalked the website for a couple of weeks in the hopes that it would be returned by an unhappy buyer. Voila! The day after the sale ended, a size 6 shows up. I grabbed it, and so glad I did. It is perfect! Just wish I had the sale op…yet, other great sales developed. I nabbed a great black trouser, black legging, tweed biker style jacket, and some glorious dangly earrings.

Which is, where I believe we started several weeks ago.

Dangle away folks!

#realbeautyeverywoman

BTW…autopsy shots of my Casablanca dream lipstick:

lipstick-1lipstick-2

lipstick-3

 

 

Leave a Reply

