Spiritual Ruminations: A New Year…

a new year.jpg

Welcome to 2017!

I know it may sound trite, but each year takes wing a bit more quickly than the last.

I’ve been holiday-ing and resting up for what looks to be a very strenuous year on a variety of fronts. Like many of you, I have reviewed the past year and have made mental lists of what I hope to accomplish in 2017. But as I took all of it to prayer these last evenings, the prevailing message was this: do what you do with great love and compassion.

Not very sexy, as they say, but strong, and to the point.

I can live with that type of resolution.

The challenges to be met with great love and compassion are many:

  • Feeding the hungry
  • Clothing the naked
  • Sheltering the homeless
  • Freeing the imprisoned and oppressed
  • Burying the dead
  • Relieving the thirst of so many
  • Visiting the sick

These are the corporal works of mercy. They seem to me to be the blueprint for living the Gospel, a Gospel sorely needed in a world too tired to combat the many isms that are dragging us all down.

Great love and compassion.

An acquaintance of mine invited the Facebook world to join the resistance to hatred.

This is another version of doing all things with great love and compassion.

I hope I will be able to do this. I suspect that some days, I will fly through life with my heart on my sleeve and a smile for all. Other days, I will fail. That is just being human.

How about you? Would you join me in this effort?

Blessings…

 

 

7 thoughts on “Spiritual Ruminations: A New Year…

  1. Good thoughts, Nancie! This is indeed the Gospel lived out. I hope to follow your example, and that of Mother Teresa, of doing small things with great love. Blessings to you for 2017! 😊

Leave a Reply

