Feathering Fridays: ambitions… 

It is January in Wisconsin and as I sit here at the keyboard, I am freezing…and thinking about Spring clothing and creative ambitions!

As a side bit of info, I am adjusting my blog schedule to 2 posts per week instead of 3. I will continue Spiritual Ruminations on Mondays, but combine the creative and fashion pieces on Fridays. What you are reading is that combo.

Last week, I perused the Mood Fabrics webpage for their new arrivals. I fell in love with a silk hounds tooth fabric in “butternut and whisper white.” Ooohhh….doesn’t that sound yummy! Since I skew classic with a little trend on the side, this textile screamed to be added to the wardrobe!  I then realized I needed some patterns. While I am a patternmaker by training, I don’t have the time to start from scratch.

Big problem: the majority of pattern companies, in my humble estimation, are offering less than desirable designs. Vogue has been my go to, followed by New Look, for many years, but even they are looking a bit mumsie.

I did what any modern woman would do—I searched the internet! This led me to Burda.

I was never crazy about Burda in the past, but I thought, why not? I was not disappointed. Their pattern designs are well thought out—great design lines, without succumbing to odd or costume-like. I selected a fabulous fitted blazer, a pencil skirt with a kick, and a blouse with possibility.

I have a few thoughts about blouse fabric, but have not settled on anything yet.

How about you? Where are your creative fashion leanings leading you this new year?

houndstooth.jpgblazer-patternskirt-patternblouse-pattern

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

