Feathering Fridays: peacock colors…

Creative juice has been flowing in spades this week! Everywhere I turn, pattern options, colors and design potential sparkle. I am not sure what has lifted the years long veil from my creating brain, but I am grateful for its reappearance.

Yes, I have been writing, drawing, painting, coloring, beading, weaving, sewing, making song for decades.

But just this week, the cork popped and my inner “shut down” voice has been stilled. I feel free to dream and create.

This creative force spilled into my sense of style and fashion as well. Yesterday, I wore the ruana I wove last Fall, with a necklace I made 5 or 6 years ago and a pair of earrings I designed and fashioned about 12 years ago. They sang in concert. The music was me!

In that spirit, I took advantage of a 40% off sale at Ann Taylor and indulged in a stunningly beautiful peacock colored skirt, sweater and coat.

The skirt is a pencil style with piped seaming. The piping in navy accentuates the bold dark teal, emerald, navy and white print. The sweater—a simple merino wool V-neck pullover in emerald-will accent not only this skirt, but many other pieces of my wardrobe. The piece d’resistance is the coat. Also in emerald, it appears to be a sateen. It is a versatile piece that will take me across several seasons in professional and casual settings. Together, they sing. Separately, they harmonize with the pieces I am stitching and with those I own already.

Let the creative symphony commence…

FreshPaint-25-2017.01.13-04.05.04 (2).png

3 thoughts on “Feathering Fridays: peacock colors…

  1. So glad you’ve got your spark back, Nancie! It may lie dormant for a while but it will return before we know it. These look great. Good choice of colour, and I LOVE your sketch. Happy styling, sketching, drawing, painting, colouring, crayoning, creating, writing, beading, weaving, sewing and music making! 😊💜

Leave a Reply

