Spiritual Ruminations: I have a dream…

I am a child of the 60’s…sort of.

I turned 13 years of age in 1970. Had I been born a few years sooner, I may had been marching against the Vietnam War and burning my bra. I did neither of these but was profoundly formed by both movements.

My pre-teen and early teen years saw racial riots, war protests, the Kent State shootings, the women’s movement, Stepford Wives, Mash, the ecumenical movement, and extraordinary changes in the Catholic church.

The awareness of race, creed and color, the sensitivity to women’s equality, environmental consciousness, and the questioning of authority on every level, lifted me high and empowered me to believe that my generation would lead the world to Peace.

Ah, the Age of Aquarius. [and I am an Aquarian]

Given this fertile ground in which the seeds of plentiful lives like mine were planted, wasn’t it simply a given that we would be the world shakers the world needed?

Can I say how broken hearted I am each and every time I encounter a generational peer that has left this vision behind?

Martin, like you, I had a dream, and I continue to dream.

  • I have a dream that we will let go of our greed, our naval gazing and our pre-occupation with rights minus responsibilities.
  • I have a dream that we will open our hearts and take a chance on the other.
  • I have a dream that we will look at each other in all of our splendid different-ness and see God’s face.
  • I have a dream that we will embrace the risk of dialogue and be malleable to new viewpoints.
  • I have a dream that we will desire good for all; prosperity for all; food, shelter and hope for all.
  • I have a dream that the artists of the world will spread their wings and encourage all to dream.
  • I have a dream that women and men will live as the equals we are.
  • I have a dream that abuse and assault will be no more.
  • I have a dream that Mother Earth will once again be esteemed as God’s gift of creation.
  • I have a dream that Church in all its forms will be a place of love, hope, comradery and true community.
  • I have a dream that we will beat swords into plowshares, and study war no more.

Yes, Martin, I have a dream.

Thank you gifting us with yours.

01759ae9a755b5c6535f82fe9297d53317305d5112

But here on this mountain, God-of-the-Angel-Armies
    will throw a feast for all the people of the world,
A feast of the finest foods, a feast with vintage wines,
    a feast of seven courses, a feast lavish with gourmet desserts.
And here on this mountain, God will banish
    the pall of doom hanging over all peoples,
The shadow of doom darkening all nations.
    Yes, he’ll banish death forever.
And God will wipe the tears from every face.
    He’ll remove every sign of disgrace
From his people, wherever they are.
    Yes! God says so!

[Isaiah 25:5-7  The Message]

4 thoughts on “Spiritual Ruminations: I have a dream…

  1. Nancie, this is pwerful, Inspiring and beautifully expressed. Thank you for being a dreamer, a mover and a shaker, a woman of insight and faith. The world needs more people like you. 💜

Leave a Reply

