Feathering Fridays: be the light… 

My intention was to share some lovely eye shadows* with you today.

Can’t do it.

Today, I feel both a pall that is heavy upon my country as well as a call to be the light. So, if you would allow me this space to wax prayerfully on this US Presidential Inauguration Day:

Good and Gracious God,
I come before you today constantly
[every minute or so]
needing to empty the horrible verbiage of my own hatred and fear
and begging to be filled instead
with hope peace love light.

This is a challenge for my anger is righteous.

My anger is on behalf of the many who simply won’t or cannot see
the dangerous waters we are traveling;

It is on behalf of all who will lose healthcare, protection and advocacy;
and the simple and basic right of acknowledgment
of their human dignity.

O God, we need to work together
to see each other as your children.

Open the hearts and minds of all
who wield power over the vulnerable
whomever we consider that to be
and grace them and all with courage mercy
and fresh wisdom
to heal.

Fill us with your Light
that we may be the bearers
of Light
in the dark place we have found ourselves.

Amen.

IMG_1215-0

*some lovely eye shadow talk next Friday…I promise!

2 thoughts on “Feathering Fridays: be the light… 

Leave a Reply

