Feathering Fridays: creating our skins… 

It’s been a few weeks since I had time for a creative feathering post, and since I am in a sitting down day mode, today will do!

One of the things that keeps me spiritually and mentally alive and vibrant is the creative pursuit. This quest comes in many variations. For instance, I am fond of saying that everyday is an art project. This applies to what I will put on my body, how I will do my make-up, what jewelry I choose. The colors I opt for may be all about a needed mood boost, or they may simply reflect the mood I am in.

How have I chased this art-making need lately?

I have finished up some mending and a few other odds and ends of projects in the past few weeks. Since my February 24th  post, I submitted my 6” x 6” mosaic to our parish art show, my Mood #floraldesignchallenge pieces are posted on Instagram, and I entered a mandala design in one of the latest Spoonflower design challenges. You can view my Mood pieces on Instagram, if you are interested. My spoonflower designs are at spoonflower.com. Here is the prototype of the mandala I submitted:

 mandala 2

 Next on the creative list–my hounds tooth suit! This will be my first Burda pattern effort and I am excited to dive in. Also ready to go is a new weaving—some kitchen towels that will be a shower gift for a family member. More to follow on that project.

In the realm of fashion:

I continue to monitor Spring 2017 and the trends that may or may not stick. I personally love the tribal inspired shoes and garments with the taupes, khaki, olives and browns punched up with incredible colors. I am also a fan of the neutral, both the beige/taupe families and subdued rose tones. As always, the peacock tones are my go-to’s!

I am curious about Spring cosmetics—I’m seeing 80’s brights and 90’s naturals. Bronze and healthy always look good. But I’m not really getting a strong sense of one pervasive movement in this arena. 

And of course, in Wisconsin, we are still wrapped in wool, scarves and boots…

More about Spring to come. In the meantime, feed the creative part of your spirit…

 houndstoothblazer-patternskirt-pattern

 

One thought on “Feathering Fridays: creating our skins… 

Leave a Reply

