Feathering Fridays: trends, fashion, style…

I have been thinking a lot about slow fashion lately. The questions that arise for me are:

  • How much is enough?
  • What is too much to own?
  • At what point do I say, this is me?
  • What is investment clothing?
  • How might I continue to work and rework what I own and love?

These are good questions to ask.

I have been building a work wardrobe for quite a while now. I’ve experimented with adding trends, adopting a fashionable stance, and ultimately, developing a personal style.

What is this style?

Anyone who knows me also knows that I love peacock colors. Not only do I really enjoy these hues, they set me alive! My collections of turquoise, aqua, teal, greens, and violets are my neutrals. I also live in classic neutrals—black, cream and taupe. Recently, I’ve busted out and added some pinks to my closet. These are my colors, the tones that brighten my face and speak my spirit.

I own pleated skirts and pencil skirts; midis and maxis; woven and knit; prints and solids. My dress collection consists of a-lines, sweater styles, straight lined, fitted; boho and classic; long and short sleeved; various lengths and edgings. Jackets are primarily classic with a couple of moto styles and khaki casual. Pants are mainly straight cut to go the distance, but a pair of flairs and some linen cuffed, as well as leggings complete the array. Blouses and sweaters add the punch and stability. Shoes are plentiful and run the gamut from sandal to pump to boot. They are also quite colorful.

This is quite a list…and that is not even getting into the scarves and jewelry, outer garments, and lingerie!

I am comfortable in these clothes. I choose a good quality at an appropriate [for me] and fair price. I’ve learned too often that you usually get what you pay for.

I have developed a style from the fashion and trends that emerged over my life. I am now confident enough to claim this style as my own.

All of this pondering of the closet has sparked a challenge for me:

If I really feel I have what I need and then some, can I be happy with this and not buy more for a while? Do I have the courage to do this? It has been great fun to purchase what I want. But I feel, finished. Time to just enjoy what is there. Besides that, I have a fabulous fabric stash waiting for creation to mold it into truly personal statement outfits.

Here is the challenge I am setting forth for myself—no shopping for 6 months. Since today is April 1, that means nothing until October 1.  The only qualifier here is if I develop major holes in all of my tights and stockings.

Actually, I think this will be fun…

 face from steph wedding

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

