Spiritual Ruminations: A prayer at the end of a long Lent…

The weeks have crawled past
my unclean heart
my desirous soul
my tempestuous mind
my exhausted limbs.

Good intentions aplenty
await at the starting line
so far back,

I’ve managed to crawl this far
across
This lush desert of wonder and questions.

All I set in motion has been left behind.
[the Lenten intention, that is]

leaving the hurdles and bumps
mounting daily.

All I must do, need do

Is traverse them,

One foot in front of the other.

Guide my feet, O God,
one more day
And thus,
we shall arrive
at Calvary.

011a5fad7e510470e81cd93d928a6b2a142229c191

Leave a Reply

