Featherings: update on slow fashioning…

Slow fashion is in bloom in my upper room!

The project at hand is a pencil skirt and jacket for spring/summer.

The specs:

This is my first experience with Burda patterns.  Instead of working with a set of printed tissue pieces folded and stuffed into an envelope, one must purchase a pdf which is then printed out on 8 1/2 x 11 paper. Next, the pieces are laid out and taped together. Looking at this large sheet of my future garments, I needed to figure out correct body measurements as they relate to the European size system, and proceed to either trace out the correct sizes or cut them. I chose to cut them out, adding my seam allowances as I cut.

I was extremely disappointed to discover that not all of the pattern pieces lined up correctly. Grain lines appeared okay so far.  Quite honestly, I wondered if I should have just drafted my own patterns. This is not a product for an inexperienced sewer.

Onto fabric preparation and layout—all went pretty well. I did a little redesign as I placed my pieces, which meant eliminating the skirt front pleat. Even though the design photo highlighted this feature, I decided that I did not want an extra seam on the skirt, especially on the center front.

Overall, I really like the fabrics and the jacket pattern design. The skirt has an interesting cut so I look forward to fitting that out. I am pondering how best to tailor the jacket—I most likely will choose the pain staking hand tailoring options so as to really savor the beauty of the textile and the architecture of the design.

Have I been tempted to just look for something similar to purchase instead?

A little bit, yes, but I am committed to this project and to holding to my 6 month clothing/accessory shopping ban.

More to come as I start to fit and stitch!

For now, a pile of pattern pieces…

silk suit and lining 1

silk suit and lining 2

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Featherings: update on slow fashioning…

    1. Thanks for the encouragement–I’m generally frustrated with commercial patterns as they are not made well but I don’t have the time to drape or draft my own right now.

Leave a Reply

