Spiritual Ruminations: retreating…

I am about to give birth–metaphorically speaking, that is. Since August, I have been involved with numerous large projects, one upon the other. The project pile reached its climax (or so I imagined) with the Great Vigil of Easter.

Even with a little “R and R”Âť, my soul and physical self are not at ease.

A hectic weekend and two very intense days bring me to this moment of packing and prepping to embark on a deeply longed for time of retreat.

I need to sort through a few things–some disappointments, some exhaustion, a side of old anger and a cup or two of overdue forgiveness. Add long walks, reading, art journaling and a great deal of sleep and I hope to bake a perfect cake.

I am not a very good baker, however. My cakes are always a bit lopsided and smooth frosting evades me.

What I do hope for realistically is a dash of clarity and serenity.

I will return to change and transition. I’d like to believe that I know what this change will be, but it is still so uncertain. People are coming and going in my place of ministry and I have no certainty about my role in the aftermath.

Serenity. Peace. Calm. Trust.

These are the gifts I desire. I will pray for an open heart. An open mind.

And then, we shall carry on.

If you have an extra prayer this week, I can use it. Thanks.

chalk 1

5 thoughts on “Spiritual Ruminations: retreating…

  1. Alongside clarity and direction, “Serenity. Peace. Calm. Trust.” are things highly sought after and will bring about the best decision making you can manage. Praying the retreat goes well for you, Nancie, and that you will meet with God in a powerful way. I only wish I was coming with you. A retreat sounds right up this weary woman’s street! Be blessed and refreshed, my friend. 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

