Featherings: fashioning slowly, lovingly…

Last evening, I spent an hour or two, lovingly putting the finishing touches on my hounds tooth skirt. Let it be known that it was a Friday evening. If you think I’ve not got a life, you are wrong my friends!

I delight in handwork. [Earlier in the day I spent an hour ironing. While also a delight for me, that is fodder for another day!]

Back to the needle and thread.

I enjoy hand overcasting seams, so my silk hounds tooth–which frays easily–was treated to this specific finish on the hem edge. This took place after I had made the correct length adjustment for my high hip [we all have them folks!] and basted the hem in place. Once the overcasting with 100% cotton thread was complete, I hand stitched the hem with a running stitch and silk thread.

The silk lining is basted and ready to be machine stitched. I will secure the ending point of the center back seam at the kick pleat with a silk thread and stitch as well. A hook and silk thread eye on the inside of the Petersham waistband/interfacing/facing and a final press will complete this piece.

This skirt has taken me about 10 hours to complete, over various periods of time. If I were to purchase it as I have fit and stitched it, I could easily expect to pay $1000.00+.

If I were to apply industrial methods, this piece would have taken maybe an hour to make. Due to the fabrications, it would still run $400.00-$500.00. These are most likely guesstimates on the low end of the spectrum. The same piece made with inferior materials would run $200.00 or so. If it was made in a sweat shop and done up in very cheap fabric, you could buy it for much less at a great variety of chain fashion stores.

My point is not to boast my ability, but to point out that slow fashion costs. The price paid, however supports one’s own sense of accomplishment. If purchased from a business that supports these methods, it supports integrity in industry. Also, I am much less likely to wear this item a few times and toss it.

While slow fashion doesn’t necessarily suit every need or situation, it is certainly something to look into.

I will post a picture of the finished product soon. In the meantime, I think I’ll start winding some warp for my next project…

How do you feather yourself? Slow or fast? Do share!

skirt inner

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

