Featherings: slowly fashioning …

Today, a bit of an update on my slow fashion motion!

The Raw Silk Jacket

  • The raw silk hound’s-tooth jacket is about 2/3 of the way to complete. I decided to do some hand tailoring, utilizing silk organza as my collar and lapel interfacing.
  • Due to some quirk in my Burda pattern, the jacket front is 2 inches shorter than the side and back jacket pieces. This little blip called for some creative fixes—I am hand stitching and carefully matching, fabric in place. Design as you go…
  • The remainder of this piece will be done by hand! I am in silk thread heaven.

Remake of a lace shirt

  • About five years ago, I purchased a great ivory lace pullover which I wore for several years. I was never completely comfortable with the look of this piece, but saved it because of the beautiful lace.
  • I recently pulled said garment from my stash and decide to convert it to a cardigan. This was very easy to do because the center front was seamed on a skinny selvedge. I simply clipped that apart. Using a running stitch, I applied a 3/8” latte toned satin ribbon to that edge and voila! I have my cardigan!

True confessions…

  • I vowed to not shop until September. However…I discovered that several key wardrobe pieces were in tough shape. I had an opportunity to replace them, and so I did just that. Thus, a new summer robe (instead of a too-short sweater); some Bare Trap sandals bought on an incredible buy special to replace the pair that stick like gum to the soles of my feet; a black knit sundress, black crop loose fit pants and two tanks, as the hot weather came fast and furious and I needed relief!
  • Cosmetics also came out to play! When you find THE perfect eye shadow, you just need to say yes, right? I love the aqua, blues, and teals that are abounding. I have had a lovely Estee Lauder aqua shadow for a few years now, but find its best application is as an eye liner smudge. It is simply too heavy on my lids. Just out: Bobbi Brown has her PEACE LOVE BEACH line which included a green, aqua and blue palette. I took a chance and ordered it online, based on the swatches they showed. I am not disappointed—the tones are soft with a bit of shimmer; they are sheer and flattering; they stay well! A winner.

And that, as they say, is that…

Happy Featherings!

raw silk jacket collarraw silk jacket add on

raw silk jacket another view

lace cardigan

BB PLB cover

BB peacelovebeach

BB PLB swatch

 

5 thoughts on “Featherings: slowly fashioning …

  1. Love your creativity! I have a loose tank style lace vest that I think would look better open (like your newly made cardigan), but don’t have your skills in sewing. Maybe one day I’ll remember to take it to a seamstress. 🙂

      1. Hi Nancie! I haven’t posted anything as of yet, but am slowly gathering thoughts & ideas. It’s difficult to do using a mobile & since my laptop is down, that’s my only access. 😃

  2. Love the lace cardigan! You’ve given me inspiration for reworking some of my clothes that are now too big as well as things friends are giving me that just aren’t quite right. I have the skills to alter and remake clothing, it’s just been awhile. Guess it’s time to dust them off and get to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

