Featherings: a few feathers flying …

It’s Saturday. The chores are done, errands run. I just painted my nails and life is good.

I’m a constant ponderer, thinker, planner, reflecter. As I accomplished all of the above, the thinking went viral. So, I will drop a few feathers worth of reflection on beauty stuff, if you don’t mind!

For my 20-30 something readers

I am no spring chicken. I don’t consider myself old either [although the very young clerk with rose toned hair at Piggly Wiggly called me dear….ouch!]. I am proud to say I am 60. Looking back on my skin care regimens and cosmetic purchases over the decades, I have a bit of wisdom to offer you who are 20 and 30 something.

  • Enough of the really cheap drugstore make up, ok? Buy the best products you can afford. They have better ingredients (generally) and last longer, and are better for your skin.
  • Break the above when you read your ingredients lists and do your research and find a true drug store gem. I’m thinking something akin to Burt’s Bees.
  • Break that rule once more when you want to experiment with a trend. Who really wants to spend $25.00 for emerald green eyeliner pencil if you are unsure of how it will really work into your style? That’s the time to check out the $7.00 option.
  • Serums—these are products that go the distance. Good skincare will allow you to avoid spending a lot of cash on other cover-up products.
  • Oils are worth checking out.
  • Please remove your makeup before you go to bed! And, clean your brushes, and check your expiration dates on product. This is especially important for your eye makeup. Being one who suffers form various eye issues, I can tell you this is no laughing matter.
  • Drink lots of water and eat your fruits and veggies! All this procedural boring stuff goes a long way in helping you look good as you age. I mean, really, who wants skin that looks like crepe paper and lips that are pre-puckered?
  • While we’re talking skin, cigarettes, lots of booze, and tanning beds—go ahead, but be prepared to look like 90 when you are 50. Just sayin’…

A feather for us Wisdom-ites

Okay ladies—we’ve arrived. And really, we can expect another 30 years of life. Let’s do it with some style!

  • Water, water, water.
  • Moisturizers—the best you can buy with lots of hyaluronic acid.
  • Serums and oils. Enough said?
  • No–more on that one. I have extremely dry skin and it is getting worse. This may be health related but after a winter of some horrible itch problems, I swim in moisturizers! Body butters, oils, and good lotions and creams that are made for problem skin seem to help me. I also highly recommend Aquaphor—it keeps my elbows and feet in tremendous condition!
  • A healthy diet of fruits, veggies, fish, chicken and some red meat is do-able and healthy. Watch the breads and pastas, but don’t eliminate them either. All things in moderation seem to serve me well.
  • Show your style! No fuddy duddiness because we are over 50! Flaunt that wisdom and life energy! Wear the colors you love! Own good pieces. Do your dance in stylish but comfortable shoes, as such items are actually availalble to buy! [unless health dictates, do you really want to strut your stuff in gramma shoes???] Lipstick is a mood manager—wear the reds, the purples, the nudes; dare to shine in rose, brown and wine!
  • Good eye makeup will zing your day! Avoid the crummy cheap stuff that just settles into your crows feet. Let those highlighters help you say, “I’m here world!”
  • Get a pedi, a facial and a massage at least once a year. Nothing says I’m worth it like a little bit of self care. If cost is a concern here (and I live in this world) drop a hint for a gift idea from children or spouse or partner or good friends or…you get the idea.

Okay Mom…

My maternal Grandmother smoked and had a face of cracked ice wrinkles as she aged. She also had very thin hair. My paternal Grandmother had a head of thick white hair and skin like peaches and cream. She used Noxema everyday of her adult life as her skin care.

I’ve been blessed with her skin but have inherited the skinny hair gene from Mom’s side. I guess you can’t have everything, right?

Conclusion? Go eat your fruits and veggies and take care of your skin, no matter how old you are!

Why does any of this really matter?

Who we are is who we are. How do we meet each other? How do we enter our worlds? When I get dressed for the day–be it an at home sluggin around day or a day of meetings–I approach my presentation as an art project! A friend once shared that she looks at her closet each day and says “ok, who’s coming with me?”  I LOVE that! In fact, I regularly chat with my wardrobe in the same fashion. When I have some potentially stressful projects or appointments, I don myself in peacock colors. If I need to assert myself, the power suit comes out to play. How I am is who people see. The trick is to align the inner and outer.  Keeping myself healthy goes a long way in fostering that view.

Enough said. I think I’ll eat a bowl of cherries now…

WIN_20170624_13_46_52_Pro (2)

8 thoughts on “Featherings: a few feathers flying …

  1. I love this post, super useful too. I am forever pondering if i should buy oils but it sounds like they are very much worth it! I’m quite new to blogging so would love it if you could check out my blog? It would be really appreciated if you could follow me back too? :)x

  2. Nancie… my sentiments exactly!!! Been really working hard (without it showing… ) on the style thang. I’m with you on all of it… thanks for sharing. That’s the beauty of willingness to share your secrets … it could mes back to you ten fold!

    P.s. Love to find my “whose coming with me today ” finds at Goodwill. 🌍🔍

  3. Shopping with my mum recently we both agreed that since I’m definitely a “Frankie”, not “Grace”, I might as well dress like it too. So she bought me a tie dye dress and a little purple thing that is definitely more eye catching than my usual jeans and black tees. Looks like I’m finally becoming a girl in the last half of my life!

Leave a Reply

