Spiritual Ruminations: weaving a tale…

August has rolled in very untypically for my part of the world.
As I write, it is raining and cool.
Friday was very October-like in temperature.
Our tomatoes are slow. They need hot nights.

However, I rather despise heat and humidity, so I am quite alright with a cool Wisconsin summer!

A fabulous side-effect of cool and rainy–I am in fast forward for Fall!

It’s all about Autumn…

Autumn holds myriads of happy memories for me. I always enjoyed the start of school:

  • New shoes, new book bag, new crayons and supplies defined grade school days.
  • High school employment offered the chance to save for college, but also provided money for my choice of shoes, fabric, patterns and even a few rummage sale finds!  My wardrobe was a bit hit and miss, but it was me.
  • College brought a deeper experience of living on the edge financially. I always had cash for my supplies and fabrics, but I definitely did not live the fashionista life that many of my design peers managed!

Real time Autumn…

Now I am 60. I have raised four children. Tom and I are celebrating 38 of marriage in a couple of weeks. We are grandparents, homeowners, providers. And still, I wait anxiously throughout August for the September editions of Vogue, Bazaar and Instyle to grace my mailbox! The lure of fall fashions with their gorgeous wools and silks, rich accessories and deep tones of burgundy, navy, and green accented by hues of the year seduce my senses. Deep reds and new nudes in lipsticks and glosses, superb shadow palettes and the latest in skin care excite my imagination. It’s the first day of school and a fresh start all over again!

In my creative cave, I examine my fabric stash. It is rich with tweeds, menswear patterns, suit weight turquoise and silks for blouses and linings. Accessories await: I broke my pledge of a no shop summer to get a great shoe deal (two pair for the price of one) and the bead show allowed for fantasy statement ensembles in waiting.

The tale of the towels…

Thus enters the tale of the towels.

All of the above projects, plus some late summer early fall pieces to be completed, are on hold this week while the loom reigns supreme.

Our nephew is to be married next week and I decided to weave them some kitchen towels. (I made this decision last March…) The loom was still set from the last batch (which turned out quite lovely) so, no big deal, right?

Roll back to 6 weeks ago when I took on a new ministerial position at our parish. Prior to that, I dove into a hand tailored suit (not yet finished, btw) so my warp hung on my loom, waiting patiently for me to address it.

“Yes, yes, warp, I’ll tend to you soon enough,” I said foolishly, ignoring it for the above projects.  Urged by the 11th hour of the aforementioned wedding, I finally began loading the loom last week. I made the classic error of working on this procedure at the end of the day when my brain is exhausted. Let us just say that I have developed a riff on my previous pattern.

And that is okay. The past week brought me a good deal of humility opportunities and the loom was only one of those lessons.

Loose ends…

As I tie the loose ends of my warp, count and recheck all of my threads, I am quieted in my soul and able to focus on the couple who will receive this gift. I am brought into the beauty of the fabric to be created, granting me a deeper appreciation for the textiles awaiting my hands and techniques for Fall 2017.

In the end, the blessing is recalling limits, savoring imagination, and engaging creativity. All of this is woven in prayer.

The towels will come together, as will the other projects. They are my sanity time, my active prayer opportunity, my chance to create.

And that, my friends, is the tale I am weaving today.

Next week, some specific project “stuff”…load the loom 1

[the front of the loom]

load the loom 2

[backside]

load the loom 3

[in the middle!]

 

2 thoughts on “Spiritual Ruminations: weaving a tale…

Leave a Reply

